County players make baseball All-Star game

Union County will be well represented in this year’s Northeast Mississippi Coaches Association Baseball All-Star game, as 12 athletes from the five schools were selected for this year’s game. Ashley Russell of West Union was also selected as one of the coaches. Below are the team’s selected by the area coaches.

1A/2A NEMCABB All-Star baseball selections

1A/2A East Team

Baldwyn: Austin Martin, Buck Beene, Shane Gordon, Jaymel Tyes

Belmont: Blake Cass, Izaac Johnson

Hamilton: Isaac Winders, Cody Crouch

Hatley: Rob Forbus

Manatachie: Trey McWhorter

Smithville: Brett Bridges, Drake Young, Ben Kennedy

Thrasher: Rusty Landry

Vardaman: Kevin Barnett

Wheeler: Lee Wilson, BB Barnes

Coaches: Tony Sparks – Belmont, Richie Taylor – Thrasher

1A/2A West Team

Ackerman: Jamey Cutts, Robbie Bryant

Bruce: Blake Peden

Calhoun City: Tyler Gray

East Union: Craig Bullock, Jimmy Marshall, Casey McBrayer

East Webster: Reggie O’Briant, Jordon Mixon, Chistopher Gordon

Ingomar: Preston Broom, Josh Hodges

Myrtle: Justin Jordan, Hunter Burke, Justin Hood

West Union: Caleb English, Bo Garrett

Coaches: Sid Burt – Bruce, Ashley Russell – West Union

3A/4A/5A NEMCABB All-Star baseball selections

3A/4A/5A East Team

Alcorn Central: Weston Moss, Lowell Gann

Amory: Kyle Montet, Stephen Otey

Booneville: Hunter Maness, Jake Scott

Caledonia: Tyler Aldrige

Columbus: Billy Autrey

Corith: Jordan Gurley

Itawamba AHS: Devin Moore, Luke Hargett

Mooreville: Ben Kingsley

Saltillo: Colby Adams

Shannon: Zach Scott

Tishomingo County: Seth George, Matt Davis, Lee Griffin, Blake Long

Coaches: Jeff Wood – Alcorn Central, Jarred Robinson – Tishomingo County

3A/4A/5A West Team

Houston: Landon Brister, Latham Brister

Lafayette County: Montez Phillips

New Albany: Sawyer Wheatley, Drew Dodds

North Pontotoc: Colten Robbins, Jeremy Ferguson, Weston Mounce

Oxford: Charley Sullivan, Phillip Malatesta

Pontotoc: Nathan White, Zach Chavers

Ripley: Will Wallis, Jase Wilbanks

South Pontotoc: David Bowen, Sam Cruse

Tupelo: Chris Stratton, Jacob McGregor

Coaches: Jamie Russell – Ripley, Greg Lewis – Lafayette County.

Both games will take place at Corinth High School on May 30th, with 1A-2A squaring off at 2:00 p.m. and the 3A, 4A, 5A game following at 6:00 p.m.


About Chris Elkins

Quisque sem est, suscipit ut velit ac, vehicula posuere sapien. Aliquam porta lectus eu urna congue sagittis. Praesent bibendum in odio non vehicula. Mauris bibendum consequat feugiat. Sed ultricies ac nulla eget viverra.
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply