Archive | Sports RSS feed for this section

Fast Pitch Softball – seated from left: Bailey Bogue, Julianna Garner, Brittany Taylor. Back: Callie Baggett, Kylie Massengill, Ashley Hatton, Jesslyn Brewer, Gracen Conlee.

West Union Athletic Awards

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }
Baseball – from left: Lane Plunk, Witt Roaton, Thomas Moore, Zane Wilkinson, Jacob Raines, Jacob Elder, Tray Davis, Dakota Edwards.

East Union Athletic Awards

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }


Booneville, Miss. – With another banner season in the books, the Northeast Mississippi Community College baseball program is ready to pass its knowledge and winning mannerisms to the next generation of stars on the diamond. The Tigers have scheduled their annual youth summer camp for May 26-28 at Harold T. White Field. The three-day event […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Cotton States season begins May 31

The Nolan Brothers Cotton States League is excited about beginning their sixth season with their Opening Day ceremonies scheduled for May 31st at 1:00 pm at BNA Bank Park in New Albany. Almost 150 players applied to play in this collegiate wood bat league. The annual draft was held Monday, May 12 and players were […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }
2014 2-1A Fast Pitch Softball Co-Players of the Year are Brittany Taylor, Bailey Bogue and Julianna Garner of West Union. Pictured from left: Asst. Coach Bre Anna Heard, Brittany Taylor, Head Coach Lisa Bogue, Bailey Bogue, Julianna Garner and Asst. Coach Leah Paige Goolsby. Photo by Dennis Clayton.


1st team all-division West Union: Callie Baggett, Bailey Bogue, Gracen Conlee, Julianna Garner, Brittany Taylor Myrtle: Emily Cook, Keely Chunn, Lauren Coggin, Audrey Kent Ingomar: Lauren Koon, Hannah Russell, Gara Beth Self Blue Mountain: Lacie Manley, Osheauna Foote Hickory Flat: Hailey Stacks Ashland: Obrianna Davis 2nd team all-division West Union: Jesslyn Brewer, Kylie Massengill, Ashley […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }
Shane Sanderson of New Albany High School was named 2013-2014 Athletic Director of the Year by the Mississippi Association of Coaches. Sanderson also serves on the MAC board as the District 1 3A/4A representative. Photo by Dennis Clayton.

Shane Sanderson named MAC Athletic Director of the Year

By Dennis Clayton Shane Sanderson of New Albany High School has been recognized by the Mississippi Association of Coaches as the 2013-2014 Athletic Director of the Year. Sanderson will be honored at the MAC Banquet on June 27 in Jackson. “I feel extremely honored and blessed to be recognized by our Mississippi Association of Coaches […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Union County teams post season series dates and times

Thursday, April 24 Baseball West Union at TCPS, 4:30 p.m. HW Byers at East Union, 5:30 p.m. Hamilton at Ingomar, 6:00 p.m. Kosciusko at New Albany, 7:00 p.m. Fast Pitch Softball Houston at New Albany, 5:30 p.m. Hamilton at Ingomar, 5:30 p.m. Myrtle at Vardaman, 6:00 p.m. Friday, April 25 Baseball Ingomar at Hamilton, 6:00 […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }
Zane Wilkinson of East Union makes contact during Tuesday

Baldwyn defeats East Union in division contest

By Dennis Clayton ELLISTOWN – Baldwyn took the early lead against East Union and then followed with a big third inning to decide the division game played Tuesday at East Union. Baldwyn pounded out 12 hits and took advantage of four East Union errors to post the win. “We didn’t play well and they played […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

New Albany vs Senatobia Tennis Results

New Albany faced Senatobia in division tennis on Tuesday and came away with the 7-0 sweep on all courts. Boys singles Mark Robbins defeated Joseph Norris 6-0, 6-1 Girls singles Morris Kelly Clayton defeated Camille Rowan 6-0, 6-0 Boys doubles Trace Thompson/Christopher Shands defeated James Norris/Billy Roberts 6-0, 6-0 Michael Crotts/Parker Nail defeated Cameron Freeman/Jacob […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Union County Fast Pitch Tournament Results

East Union 5, West Union 1 New Albany 11, Ingomar 4 East Union 9, Ingomar 0 West Union 6, Myrtle 1 New Albany 4, East Union 3 Ingomar 8, Myrtle 7 East Union 12, Myrtle 5 West Union 9, New Albany 6 New Albany 7, Myrtle 4 West Union 13, Ingomar 0

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }