Spears named division player of the year

New Albany’s Jazmine Spears ended her standout career with the Lady Bulldogs last month and for her efforts this season, was named the Region 2-4A Most Valuable Player.
For the second consecutive year, Spears led the team in all statistical categories; points (27.8), assists (4.4), blocks (1.9) and rebounds per game (14.9), helping the Lady Bulldogs to a regular season division title.
Also named to the All-Division team from New Albany was Erin Michael Carter. The junior averaged 6.4 points per game and 5.1 rebounds per game this season.
Rounding out New Albany’s selections for All-Division is head coach John Stroud, who was named the Coach of the Year.
The Bulldogs had three named All-Division on the boys’s side: senior Eric Chaney, sophomore Jarel Lipsey and senior JT Moore, who was an honorable mention.
Chaney led the team in scoring, averaging 15.3 points per game, while Lipsey led in assists with 3.2 per game. Moore was the leading rebounder with 6.5 per game.
Below is the list for All-Division for Region 2-4A.
Andrea Lewis- North Pontotoc, Tia Davis- North Pontotoc, Erin Michael Carter- New Albany, Destiny Gardner- Lewisburg, Janae Westbrook- Lafayette, Shaniyah Buford- Lafayette, Khadija Davis- Senatobia, Alyssia King-Senatobia, Adrianna Crawford- Rosa Fort and Shavuntay Cotton- Rosa Fort
MVP- Jazmine Spears- New Albany
Offensive MVP- Tekevanna Young- Senatobia
Defensive MVP- Chelsea Mabry- North Pontotoc
Coach of the Year- John Stroud- New Albany
Marcus Green- North Pontotc, Brandon Mack- Lafayette, Eric Chaney- New Albany, Jarel Lipsey- New Albany, Alex Arnold- Lewisburg, Cody Hannah- Lewisburg, Lajustin Anderson- Senatobia, Kevis Flemming- Rosa Fort, Ladarius Woods- Rosa Fort, Kendarius Hibbler- Rosa Fort Honorable Mention: Ben Shannon- North Pontotoc, Montreal Nabors- Lafayette, JT Moore- New Albany, Joe Cole- Lewisburg, LaTevin Glass- Senatobia and Keith Turner- Rosa Fort.
Co-MVP- Marcus Green, Kevis Flemming
Offensive MVP- Alex Arnond Defensive MVP- Cody Hanna
Coach of the Year- McKinley Scott- Rosa Fort